Skip to content

Maybe it wasn’t that bad – The Final Post

December 22, 2010

Dear everyone,

This post is now 10 days past due but I’m hoping you’ll cut me some slack since it’s the holidays and I’ve been on “full speed ahead” since December 1. …

On a positive note, I just want to let you all know that my foot is 100% healed. In case you were wondering, I had an inflamed tendon which I self-diagnosed in my hotel room, post-marathon, with my wonderful hubs. Through google searches, medical blog reviews, and many diagrams and scary medical pictures, we determined I had peroneal insertional tendonitis. When my sweetie looked at this picture, then proceeded to probe at my foot where the shaded area is, I cried in pain:

Anyway, like I said – all better now. The first week I walked with a limp, a few days later I actually found it more comfortable to walk in heels, I RICEd as much as possible and about 10 days post-marathon, the pain completely sub-sided.

There’s still so much swirling in my head about things I want to tell people and posts I wanted to write. Unfortunately, I’m 3 days behind on mailing holiday cards, I still have to get a present for one more person, and I have to work for the next two days. With all those limitations, I’ll leave you with the one topic I couldn’t wait to share: CW-X Running Tights are AWESOME …

I’ve been meaning to tell you that since I first wore them on my long run a few weeks before the marathon. If you’re going to invest in some cold-weather gear, these are top of my list (and I use the word invest specifically because they’ll cost you about $100 and as we all know, as a running hobby increases, so do – sometimes – the costs associated with it).Β  Anyway, ladies, this is all I can say: I have never felt sexier in a pair of tights. No joke. I mean, I tried on a dozen pair of cold-weather tights and the entire time the only thing I could think was, “Ugh – hello thighs!” Well, I put on these CW-X babies and I looked GOOD! If it could do it for me, it could do it for anyone – trust me. And well, while most guys would think, “Who cares how you look?” Here’s my answer: I care! If I have to run around in public for 1-3 hours, please don’t make it also be embarrassing to boot. SO, as a re-cap: these pants are functional, super warm (they blocked the wind like nobody’s business) AND (most importantly) they make you look good!

If you won a prize and you still haven’t heard from me – I’m sorry! I have a post-it on my calendar as a constant reminder and you’ll be hearing from me soon (or your prize will just show up in the mail).

Thank you, thank you, thank you again to everyone who made a donation. In the end, I raised $5,322.29!

There’s still so much to say and not nearly enough time to organize my thoughts and type them out to say them, but this blog is complete (for now) my dear friends and readers, so there’s really only one final thought that I just HAD to get out there before 2010 is through:

Running this marathon and raising these funds for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital completed my New Years Resolutions for 2010. This is not the first year that I actually did everything I said I would do, but it most certainly was the first year where my resolutions were bigger than myself and tougher than anything I could have imagined. I’ve already started thinking about my 2011 Resolutions. In truth, they’ll be more personal and internal. For example, one of the contenders is “Take better care of your teeth – floss every day and brush at least twice” … but nothing’s final, so we shall see. But … to the point … if you have something that seems like it’s completely unfathomable to you, yet you’ve “always wanted to do it,” I challenge you to try for 2011. I swear to you that if someone told me in 2008 that I would run a marathon myself in 2010, I would have laughed in their face! Now I’ve learned – anything’s possible.

Everyone wants to know – am I signed up for my next marathon? No! Wait. Hell no! (That’s better). But I am so glad that I did it and I’ve never been happier about achieving such a goal. And, well, while I’m not signed up for any marathon already, and it’s not on the agenda for 2011, I can admit – maybe it’ll happen again in 2012. πŸ˜‰

Sending out warm holiday, internet wishes to all for a happy holiday season and – most importantly – prayers for good (and/or better) health for everyone (family, friends, the children of St. Jude …) in 2011,

ep

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 6:14 pm

    Good recap/report. Way to go on raising $5000 plus for a ggreat cause!

  2. May 1, 2011 5:58 pm

    hi there! i don’t know if you ever check this or get the notifications, but email me if you do. πŸ™‚

    this is ashley at polka dots and paisley… since you finished your marathon, i totally digged my old blog and started one dedicated to running! i was trying to find an email cause i wanted to see how you were doing since you finished your marathon and if you were still running! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

