Skip to content

Hello from Memphis! …

December 2, 2010

The marathon is in two days. Two days! I just wanted to quickly hop on to the blog to let you all know that I’m having an amazing time here in Memphis. There’s so much to say and share and my mind has been racing all day, but I’ve concluded that I’ll share just one story with you. One story about how amazing St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital is …

My Mother (who is here in Memphis cheering me and the hubs on) went to St. Jude’s this morning and met some of the hospital staff. When I got to the expo, I asked the woman, “How is it working for St. Jude’s? Is it like a dream job? I mean, they do so many amazing things and help so many people; I just feel like the work is so rewarding.”  This is what she said (verbatim):

I love working for St. Jude’s and indeed it is an incredible place. For example, here’s what happened last week. As I’m sure you know, when the kids go through chemo, one of the side effects is that they lose their appetite. So, in the hospital, when a kid wants to eat, it’s a BIG DEAL and they pretty much go out of the way to get whatever it is that the child wants. Well, last week, this little boy really wanted Macaroni and cheese. Mac and cheese is easy enough – we have it in the kitchen. But after the staff gave the little boy the mac and cheese he kind of sighed and said, “This tastes funny. It just doesn’t taste like the way my grandma makes it.” After he said that, our chef got the phone number of the little boy’s Grandmother – in Iowa  – and called her on the phone for her recipe!

Dear readers, Are you crying yet? I know I was! I’ve already cried about three times today.  The story above particularly touched my heart because I used to work for Disney World and I thought, “That’s exactly how we went out of our way at Disney(!) … and this was just for max and cheese.”  Everything here just means so much more: time, health, family, support; it’s incredible.

Speaking of support, thank you again to all my friends who have e-mailed, sent notes, written cards, and sent me fortune cookies over the past week! I can’t believe the marathon is almost here. This is definitely one of the most amazing things I’ve ever done in my life. A few days ago I didn’t think I wanted to wear my singlet during the race and three time today I said, “I raised over $5,000! (some checks are still pending).

We’re off to Graceland tomorrow and I’ll be in bed by 8pm. I’ll see you all on the other side,

ep

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 11:16 am

    Shira and I are thinking of you, and so proud! Good luck on your race! … and since I imagine you’re going to be hungry after you cross the finish line, I’d never forgive myself if I didn’t urge you to check out some of Memphis’ famous bbq.

    Good luck, EP!!!!

  2. Tish permalink
    December 6, 2010 6:25 pm

    Waiting on your marathon story!! You’re killing me!!
    I did my first marathon in November….I LOVE to hear other’s experiences!!!

Leave a Reply

