Skip to content

Running Socks!!

November 16, 2010

It’s been way too long since I’ve last posted about fuel and/or running gear.  Well, with the Holidays right about the bend, even though I generally prefer NO presents (I like everyone to save their money and/or make a donation instead!), I’ve been eyeing these and I WANT them (maybe even in time for the Marathon?):

Injinji Performance Midweight – Mini Crew

$15.95 on our favorite: http://www.sockgeek.com

Do I have a pair of these toe socks? No. I was looking at the Injinjis over the summer but for about $10, I thought the basic one was kind of flimsy (it reminded me of the random cotton socks you get in a hospital or something – with no elastic around the ankle). Anyway, this updated (and new?) style above looks pretty awesome – it first caught my eye in an ad in this month’s Runner’s World.  They are particularly appealing because I have noticed recently that my “ring toe”(? – I have no idea what to call that specific toe) on my left foot tends to bother me – in a blister sense – on any run over 10 miles.  I was thinking about getting a pedicure BEFORE the marathon to make sure that my feet get the loving they deserve so that I walk away as blister free as possible from the Marathon, but we’ll have to see.  In the meantime, these socks are a good plan B or even Plan A.  For non-runners out there (or even people new to this type of sock), you might be wondering what the appeal is other than these socks look cool?  Well, they’re practical too. In short, the fact that each of your piggies gets its own “sleeve” is a sort of protection from friction that occurs BETWEEN the toes – not just against certain spots of the foot in your sneaker.  Does that make sense?

Anyway, now that I just finished writing this little post, I decided I will get them. SO, I’ll let you know in a few more weeks how these turn out and whether or not you should add them to your Wish List. But oh – one more thing – I will NOT be buying those “toe sneakers.” These socks are NOT a gateway to that type of design for me – I think those sneaks are stupid and I’ve seen THREE PEOPLE who were wearing them fall down. One girl was a gym employee.  I’ll never forget it: Last season, when the Blizzard was here, we were at the gym when I noticed her wearing the toe sneakers. Her co-worker was all, “Oh! You have those shoes! Look at that. How do you like them?” She was of course eager to show off, so, with a big smile on her face and a little extra pep in her step, she started to walk out from behind the front desk so the co-worker could see her great shoes better. She took three steps and BAM! she was on the floor – scraped knees on the carpet and all.  She jumped back up quickly and I had one thought, “I’m never getting those dumb sneakers.”

Happy Tuesday!

ep

PS – If you want to find past reviews on fuel and other running gear, check out the “Fuel and Running Gear” Category. I actually just bought some CW-X running pants this weekend, so I’ll post some more on that next week and sense that the “Fuel and Running Gear” posts will be heating up.  (In fact, I’m considering that that will be some of the future of this blog after the Marathon. There’s a lot of stuff out there for running and more importantly, a lot of people who don’t know about this stuff.  As for (lucky) me, my husband spends HOURS researching everything running and I like to write reviews (I was Yelp Elite last year!) so what better way to bridge the gap then combine the two?  My theory has always been that once you start running hardcore [three times a week or more], you should also start indulging yourself with better gear. Everyone says one of the joys of running is that you only need a pair of sneakers but I’ll be the first to tell you that when you start investing in running gear, there is MORE Joy in running – trust me.  In fact, ran a race recently?  Do yourself a favor and go splurge $10-$15 on a pair of socks. You deserve it!  Check these out: http://www.sockgeek.com/m-7-balega-socks.aspx)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

