Skip to content

Accounting of What it Takes to Run a Marathon …

November 14, 2010

Hey Everybody,

Hope you had a great weekend! I thought about writing yesterday to tell you that I ran 20 Miles on Saturday, but I decided to take a rest day instead (rest from running, rest from chores, rest from blogging – it was glorious!). Anyway … the 20 Miles was great. I mean, it wasn’t the world’s best or greatest run, but now that it’s out of the way, it’s all down-hill from here (YAY Taper!). My hips and knees were achin’ quite a bit, but I finished all of it in 3:45, so I think I’m good to complete the Marathon in 4:30 or 4:45 so long as nothing unforeseen gets in my way. Honestly, at one point I was comparing it to the 18 Miler and I was bummin’ that maybe I was running slower than I hoped, but I realized: 1. Before I ran the 18-Miler, I actually took off a few days in a row AND I didn’t run much the week before, so my legs were rested and 2. Pre-marathon I have a two week taper! So … with that in mind, I’m really feeling good that race day will be everything (I hope!) that I think it will be.

Now that I’m on the taper and it’s funday Monday, I also thought this would be a good time to do a quick accounting of what it has taken to train for a Marathon:

1. Number of weeks training: 22 by December 4

2. Number of miles my feet ran (as of today): 408, at the end of 3 more weeks: 442

3. Number of times I ran a Half Marathon distance without participating in a Half Marathon: 5 (the Philly Half run excluded)

4. Number of fuel packages consumed: 21

5. Number of sports beans lost: 8 (I dropped one and only one EVERY time I ate sports beans)

6. Number of months spent preparing: 5

7. Number of Marathon or Bust Events: 2

8. Number of Marathon or Bust fund-raising antics (events excluded): 9, maybe more (blog included)

9. Number of pounds lost: zero!

10. Number of pounds gained: zero! (I’ve been eating like a horse, but not so much that I’ve put on weight)

11. Number of crazy things that happened since I started training: 1 – We adopted a dog.

12. Number 1 piece of advice for Marathon Training: Don’t adopt a dog mid-training.

13. Number 1 piece of advice for practical people: Go to bed early and/or as soon as you’re tired!

14. Number of times social events were unattended and/or adjusted for training: several, including the upcoming Holiday party that we’re going to miss because we’ll be in Memphis running.

Would I do it again? Maybe. Probably.

Will I do it again – maybe in a few more years.

This is the last Funday Monday post – kind of – because next week is going to be the list of Marathon or Bust prize winners! I truly cannot believe the Marathon is now less than three weeks away. At times, it felt so far away and now, well it’s just around the bend. I’ve spent most of my training program mentally preparing for the BIG runs (anything 12 and over) and now the only BIG RUN left is the actual marathon. Speaking of things I can’t believe, I also can’t believe that there were no comments received on my acronym game post a few weeks ago. I thought I would have had like 10 comments since I said that it didn’t matter how silly the guesses were. I think maybe the letters were too hard? The funny this is that I don’t even remember the answers to any of them other than the first. So now your guess would be as good as mine, lol.

I’ve got to get ready for work folks. Oh yes – and I have a massage tonight. It’s the last one before the Marathon. I’m not feeling so bad after 20, but I want my legs to be REALLY ready when December 4, 2010 rolls around. Oh, and in case you were wondering, this week we’ve got: 5, 8, 4 and 12. (4? 4! Can you believe it! That’s going to feel like nothing after all these weeks!)

Toodles,

ep

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 7:44 am

    Yay for taper time! 🙂 You have trained hard for this and you are ready!!

  2. November 15, 2010 10:19 pm

    it’s pretty awesome to see how much you’ve put into the big day! getting clooose 🙂

  3. Tish permalink
    November 16, 2010 8:47 am

    Finished my first marathon at San Antonio Rock and Roll this weekend….actually thought of you when I saw several sport beans rolling around on the ground, and also the empty packages….LOL!!!

    I was super slow, but not last, and even if I had been last, I would have still completed it!!

    The final 6.2 was killer. All the rumors I heard were true~~
    Keep up the good work!!

Leave a Reply

