Skip to content

The Future of this Blog

November 3, 2010

A few months ago I had big dreams for Marathon or Bust which included raising $26,200. I’ve scaled back on the dreams some, but I don’t think I can give up on one hope – the wish that I want the blog to go on.

Here’s the thing – I don’t want to blog anymore. I mean, I love chatting about running and my running and St. Jude’s but writing nearly every day is a lot of work and quite frankly, I don’t need a second job (especially one that doesn’t pay!).  Of course, I hope to stay in touch with the friends I made (and I know I will) but the concept of Marathon or Bust is something that I soon won’t be able to do anymore anyway.  Let me explain …

Marathon or Bust is a blog written by someone who has never run a marathon before. After December 4, 2010, that won’t be me. It’s about the planning, the struggle, and the sacrifice of one person who is attempting to do something they’ve never done before.

Along those same lines, I thought about turning Marathon or Bust into a Club of sorts that people – who have never ran a marathon, but want to – could join for moral support and training information, but I think (not sure yet) that Marathon or Bust is also about turning running into something more – something that parallels the struggle of  training for your first marathon with other uphill battles out there – if that makes sense.  I mean, for me, I wanted to fund-raise because I thought that if I could help someone in their *unchosen* battle as I struggled in something that I DID choose for myself, then I could tap into that distinction as a source of inspiration.  I like to think I did.  I like to think I still do since I have four more weeks left.

All that being said – here’s the question: Is there anyone out there who wants to sign up for a marathon and who wants to blog (and maybe fund-raise)? I won’t abandon you, I swear.  In fact, not only would I make a donation, but I’ll help you with marketing and you don’t have to try to raise a ridiculous amount of money either (how about $1,000)?  I have some people in mind … I mean, I know people who want to run the BIG race but haven’t yet. If this is you ;), let me know.  If this isn’t you but you know someone who hasn’t read the blog yet either, please refer them to this post (and tell them to make a donation! haha)

This blog has a future – I think – I just don’t know who can and who wants to carry the torch 😛

ep

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

