Skip to content

MCM Today and I’m off for 18 Miles …

October 31, 2010

We’re heading out to cheer on a friend who is running the Marine Corps Marathon today and then I’m heading off for my 18 Mile Run. Happy Halloween! The city has been waiting for the MCM since Friday with banners and porto-potties next to the road.  I’ll admit that I had a small fantasy of running in my own marathon when I ran through the MCM paraphernalia during my 9 Miles on Friday night. I envisioned the crowds that would line up next to the signs and cheer into the street, and I imagined it was me running in the middle. It got me pretty pumped for the BIG event in a only few more weeks.

As for the 18 miles today – I’m definitely scared. Not scared like I was when I had to run my first 7 Miles for my first Half Marathon, but scared in a more surprised way. In a, “I can’t believe I’m doing this” kind of way that made me wonder, “What else will I do that I never dreamed of?” (all in a good way of course).

How long it will take me – I don’t know. How many times I’ll stop and walk – I also don’t know. But I’ve been pumping carbs for 24 hours and I know that I WILL run 18 Miles, so now I’m just pretty excited actually.

See you on the other side!

ep

PS – Today is the LAST DAY to take advantage of the donation deal! If you want to increase your chances of winning a prize, then I suggest you don’t delay and make your donation today. Of course, you can make a donation all the way up to December 4th, 2010, but the raffle is on Monday, November 22 and I’m giving two extra chances to each donation received during the month of October.  Trick or Treat! (and Happy Birthday to my Aunt!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 11:37 am

    Yay for 18 miles!!! Good luck!! :o)

Leave a Reply

