Skip to content

I ran the Marine Corps Marathon today!

October 31, 2010

Well … 18 miles of it that is. 😉

For a little bit, I felt REALLY guilty – it’s not like I paid to participate in the race and it’s not like I was running a full 26.2 Miles like everybody else, but how I didn’t come up with this plan before this morning is beyond me. (Don’t worry – I didn’t take a medal)

So, as I said previously, we went out to cheer on a friend who WAS running in the Marine Corps Marathon. A little before the 9 Mile Marker, where me and the hubby were standing waiting for our friend to pass, I suddenly realized I didn’t see the bib number of a racer who was in front of us.  I commented to my sweetie, “Look at that guy. No bib. I wonder if he’s even in the race!” Then, while a little light bulb appeared above our heads, we suddenly realized – Why don’t *I* run the race course? We were, afterall, right before the 9 Mile Marker! I spent all week trying to think about where I could run so that I would not be greatly detoured by the race and actually, the city of Washington, DC already had a perfect 26.2 Mile course planned out! If you can’t run around them, why not join them?!?

Outside of the fact that my 18 Mile run was awesome because I [now] had a course and I was not worried about getting hit by a car or having to stop for a traffic light, it really was a good dry run. First: I learned quickly that on MY day, I need to pace myself; the excitement of the whole thing really did get to me and I took off way too fast (I’ll probably be hurting tomorrow). Second, (on the flip side of that), I realized that with the pace I WAS able to maintain, I probably CAN finish in 4:30 like I was hoping/planning. Third, I got the real experience of a marathon: I saw people dropping out right and left between Miles 19 and 23 and I got to see how people act during the food and water stops. Yes, I’ve done several races before with food and water stops, but I am of the opinion that MORE people stop for food and water and WALK through the stops during a marathon compared to other races.

As for the actual Marine Corps Marathon race itself, it wasn’t bad. There were a few gruesome hills (including the uphill before the finish line!) and it did take you around quite some pretty parts of the City. I will admit I was a little disappointed on several fronts though: 1. The cheering along the mall was WEAK – for the number of people who were there it was pathetic how many of them were just staring at you like you were in a zoo 2. Not really many monuments along the way except for the Capitol. 3. Not the world’s greatest entertainment along the course- though I must say they had Marines at EVERY water station and I don’t know who else was cheering more than them (THANK YOU!), 4. Fort Hayes really was dead – I mean, it was good to zone out, but it was sad being surrounded by a lot of people to being in the middle of a park with no one cheering you on. Speaking of which …

The other reason running through part of the course was incredible was because this was the first time I ever ran 18 Miles and it hurt like hell. So, it was REALLY nice having people along the way screaming, “You can do it!” especially when I was at MY Mile 17.

Before I sign off for the day to eat like an animal, I wanted to let you know that there were also way less costumes than I thought (I was expecting to be underwhelmed, but it really was minimal) and there were MANY signs which were funny: 1. Bloody Nips are Sexy, 2. If Palin can run, so can you! 3. Keep it up, you look FaBOOlous!

Oh! – And I just remembered what I thought was the BEST costume: a spectator who was dressed like the Washington Monument! It was HILARIOUS! (especially because she was at the turn near the Washington Monument). She looked like a milk carton from far away, but when I got close and saw how she taped little flags around her sides, you could see the awesome effect. A few other funny costumes: our friend dressed like Forrest Gump, Waldo (there were at least two of him), a man dressed like a beer keg with his German Beer Girl running partner and Captain America.

It was a great run; the best 18 Miles I could have ever had (I think). There was so much to look at it and so little to think about, now I’m only wondering how I’ll entertain myself during the 20 Mile run!

As for me and my sign and my time (in case you were wondering): My sign said: Trick or Treat! I don’t want to smell your feet! The finish line will be OH SO SWEET! [It was indeed] and I finished the marathon in a little after 4:20 (ha!) and I finished MY run in about 3:03.

Oh – and one last thing … even though I didn’t have a bib on, I texted my hubby bib numbers of people who were next to me when my picture was taken. I’ll see if I can pull some when they’re developed for the blog!

Enjoy the rest of the weekend,

ep

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2010 5:38 pm

    Congrats on the 18 miles!! Sounds like a great dry run for the actual marathon! :o) Great idea!

  2. Megan permalink
    October 31, 2010 9:18 pm

    Congratulations on your run today! My mom just called me to tell me about your post— because I was the Washington Monument girl today! She googled something about costumes at the race and found your blog, haha!

    I considered hopping in to run for a while as well, but that big box around me was somewhat constricting. Anyway, well done on your 18 miler and glad you enjoyed my milk carton 🙂

    • November 1, 2010 7:43 am

      haha! The little flags that you had in your hands were a great effect too! 😉

  3. raymond brown permalink
    November 2, 2010 5:33 am

    Good going young lady I am so proud of you.Oh I forgot to tell you we do have allergies. cat hair dog hair tree and dust ollen. Check to see if you may be alergic to Max. I hope not.
    Great job keep it up.

    Dad

  4. November 2, 2010 9:54 am

    that is so awesome, what a great opportunity to get your feet wet with the marathon mentality! i sooo want to go slip into the middle of a marathon for a little bit now 🙂

    • November 2, 2010 1:10 pm

      Do it! It is honestly one of the BEST ways that I can think of to prepare yourself for a marathon and/or get excited about signing up for one. Take one of your long runs and just “happen” to let it be along a marathon or half-marathon course 😉

Leave a Reply

