Skip to content

The struggle continues …

October 12, 2010

Alright everybody. First off – Happy Tuesday! I am very excited that today is Tuesday because it feels like the work week is over already. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I like my job and all, but I like being home with my man and my dog WAY MORE than being at work, so the countdown continues.

Next – I got my 4 Miles out of the way this morning which was a nice accomplishment, but I’ll admit, I’m having some serious tight muscle issues with my left quad and it’s not pretty.  I had a leg massage yesterday to try and work it out, but all 4 Miles today were wrought with a stiff thigh so I’m not looking forward to 8 Miles tomorrow.  And finally, I have another dilemma …

So I had such a great time with my hubby and the baby yesterday that I’m thinking I might not do anything on Halloween (i.e., fund-raise).  Is that selfish?  I’m really struggling here.  I mean, I have this goal and whatnot, but I’m seriously exhausted and I finally started to feel refreshed this weekend (which is why I think I was able to jump out of bed this morning at 6AM for a 4-Mile run).  With my increased mileage incoming, I keep thinking that maybe my upcoming efforts should be focused on my sleeping and overall “feeling good”-well being? I also want to enjoy Halloween; after all, it will be Max’s first.  I just can’t imagine running 18 Miles on Saturday, October 30th, and then hitting the pavement again for 3 or more hours on Sunday, the 31st at the crack of dawn. That would mean, for that weekend: 1. I’ll have missed a couple of hours with my boys on Saturday, 2. My legs will be completely exhausted, (and then, most importantly): 3. I’ll miss MORE hours with my boys on Sunday which also happens to be a Holiday and which also happens to be Max’s first Halloween. Yes, yes, I know he’s a dog, but I can’t help it and quite frankly he is my little baby and yes, I’m turning into one of those people who likes to dress their pup up in silly outfits (but only for Halloween).

Advice?  Leave me a comment!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 5:17 pm

    Make sure you do lots of different stretches post-run. This will help avoid injury. Also, I highly recommend wearing/sleeping in compression pants (CW-X makes good ones) 1-2 nights after a long run. Improves recovery time and soreness. Pain is temporary, pride is forever.

    • October 12, 2010 6:12 pm

      Alright, I’m going to look into these “compression pants.” Why does it sound like the time when I used to have to wear “head gear” at night?! Oy vay!

  2. Kevin permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:15 pm

    Little Ozo (well he keeps getting less “little”) & I thought we saw you jumping rope this morning at the crack of dawn – he looked like he wanted to go say hi at first, but then he seemed to decide he was cold and really wanted his breakfast. But if it weren’t for his hankering for breakfast, I know he’d want to support your Wednesday run.

    • October 13, 2010 5:52 pm

      haha! That wasn’t me – but jumping rope is a good idea and maybe I’ll incorporate that into my routine! Ah, I love Little-not-so-little-really Ozo. It has been so fun to see him grow! I wonder how big he’ll be by the end of my training? It’s ironic how he was a small pup when I first started this endeavor and now he’s a big dog! And to think, there’s still seven more weeks! Sigh …

  3. October 13, 2010 11:48 pm

    haha, i limit myself to dressing my dogs up to major holidays only as well 🙂

    man! i’m ready to do a half or two so that i can train for a marathon! i want to run those long miles! 🙂

    • October 14, 2010 7:06 am

      I thought of you when I read Runner’s World last night. There’s an article about the LAST 6.2 Miles of a Marathon that separates it from a typical long run. If you’re not a subscriber, I’d pick one up in news-stands this month. You are exactly the type of person who would enjoy the thrill of training. Are you signed up for any Halfs in the future?

Leave a Reply

