Skip to content

I had a Fun Day Monday!

October 11, 2010

Hey Everybody,

Yup – so I took off the whole weekend. Sorry! I know you’re used to me writing every day but I ran 15 miles on Saturday and was pretty much pooped the rest of the weekend – including today. The good news is that while it wasn’t easy and it didn’t feel great, it didn’t hurt as bad as I feared and I did it! When I got home, the first thing I said to my hubby was, “Hey, so you know what was weird? I completely zoned out between Miles 7 and 11. Seriously. Like I hit a mile marker on the trail and thought, ‘Woah, I think that means I went 11 Miles,’ I looked down at my watch and it said: 11.01 Miles; 2 Hours. … I can’t believe I had been running for two hours!” … so yes, runner’s high or delirium (I vote the latter), I seriously had a big moment of ZEN – AHHH!! between Miles 7 and 11 since I can’t remember any of it at all – and it was amazing! Had I been able to take a nap at some point, I bet that would have been amazing too. Of course, that didn’t happen – not with the puppy! He didn’t run 15 Miles, so of course, he wanted to play! I was out like a light as soon as my head hit the pillow; that is one of the joys of running – the great sleep you get every night.

So even though yesterday was a cross day, the only thing that was crossed was my arms while I fell asleep on the couch. Today was an OFF day but I went hiking with the hubby and the puppy instead. I’m going to chill for the rest of the night (okay, the truth is I still need to eat dinner, brush the dog’s teeth and do ten minutes of “Drop It”-training with him), but I’m beginning to mentally prepare for my harder running week. Up this week: 4-8-4-16. The good news is that with all this extra running, I’ve been eating two desserts every night – not that that’s healthy and not that I encourage that, but this is pretty much the only time in my life when I can eat anything without putting on weight and it also happens to coincide with my season favorite – caramel apples – so I figured that was a sign and who am I to go against the life’s plans for me, ya know? 😉

PS – Will return next week with the Funday Monday. If I can get my act together and if work isn’t too crazy this week, I’ve got something that I think/hope will be good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

