Skip to content

I think I ran 7 Miles?

October 6, 2010

Whoever got anxiety over a day of the week? Me! Gosh, I really hate Wednesdays. I’m kind of looking forward to Wednesday, December 8, 2010 to see if the end of my training program reverses the psychosis I’ve given myself over the past two weeks. On the positive side, I got my run in today. On the not so positive side – I’m not sure it was 7 Miles!? In addition to my own mental fatigue, I’m pretty sure my electronics are out to get me because I charged my Garmin for nearly two days, but after conquering only 1/2 Mile, it told me that it had a “Low Battery” and about 1 Mile later it went dead. I tried to think back to previous runs to recall some distances, but I’ve been changing up my routes frequently (trying not to get bored) so what I thought was a 3.5 Mile “out & back” – turned out to be (as my hubby informed me) – only 3 Miles out and back.

Now, it’s 1/2 mile to the START of the trail from our house so I’m wondering if he meant 3 Miles from the Start to where I turned around or 3 Miles from our house. [note to self: follow-up with him when he returns from walking the puppy and then even when he still tells you that you’re wrong, google map it just to be extra sure. Men! – Sometimes they’re not so clear. I could have SWORN it was 3.5 Miles!] Anyway …

1 Mile less or not – I did it. And honestly, I can’t even remember any of it because all I was thinking about was work (we’re in the midst of “year end” stuff) and the thank you notes that I have to write tomorrow for the two donations I received today. [Donators – past and present – if you’re reading this, consider this shout out to be an extra thank you!] I was feeling just a little bummed last night but between the comments I received today and the donations that were made, my spirits have been uplifted.

Oh – and on a really exciting, totally not related to running, or anything else I’ve ever mentioned before on the blog, note – I have about 30 more pages to go until the end in a book that I’m reading (“Her Fearful Symmetry”). The book itself is not important (though I am enjoying it). What’s important is that I’ve somehow managed to: train for a marathon, write a blog, raise some money, work full-time, raise a puppy, raise a husband AND – somehow – find some time for myself doing something that I really enjoy … all without losing my sanity. (PS that time is usually between 10 PM and 11:30 PM when I can’t sleep because it’s a Tuesday night and I have anxiety about Wednesday) I’m feeling very accomplished but I also feel like I’m on a tight rope, tippy-toeing my way across a circus down below, towards a big sign that says one thing: December 4, 2010.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrew permalink
    October 7, 2010 9:43 am

    nope…3 miles from our front door

  2. October 7, 2010 1:20 pm

    oh my gosh!! the same thing happened to me yesterday, except low battery beeped as soon as i turned garmin on and it died .50 mi in! i knew my route at least so i got my 6 miles, but man, it bummed me out lol.

Leave a Reply

