Skip to content

Weds. is Impending [insert scary music] …

October 5, 2010

So I think I’m prepared for my 7 Mile run tomorrow (I think), but that’s only for one reason: Because I’m really scared of next week’s running schedule. This week, I’m still at the ‘tame’ 3-7-4 … and then I have to run 15 miles on Saturday (which would be the longest I’ve ever run). But next week [insert same scary music from heading] I have to run: 48-4-16! (YIKES!) I was excited to run my 3 miles today (because it was only 3 miles), but the entire time, all I was thinking about is how nervous I am to run next week; Everything is just starting to take a lot more time … more time running, more time stretching and doing my pre-run moves, etc. In general, when it comes to running, I wouldn’t go through my “pre-run moves” unless I was running 4 Mi. or more. Well, now, after next week, every run will be greater than 4 Miles! I’m standing on the borderline of love/hate again in re to running.

In re to fund-raising, I also have a confession (this after my 10 Mile run on Sunday) … I’ll be happy if I raise $5k by December 4, 2010. I think$26.2k would have been totally achievable in another time and in another economy, but the reality is that there are still a lot of people out there without jobs and a lot of people out there with jobs who are working really hard just to make ends meet. Maybe if it was 1990? Maybe if I didn’t have a puppy who needed all my free time? Maybe if there were less companies going out of business and more opportunities for corporate sponsorship? … But there are too many “Maybe if(s)” [including a puppy licking my leg as I type] and in order to not stress myself out about my creeping money-thermometer, I decided to embrace a more realistic goal (mentally) so that I will feel accomplished both physically and mentally when December 4, 2010 rolls around without making some sacrifices in the next few weeks that I’m not willing to make without certainty (mainly spending time with my hubby and my puppy; my increased running schedule is already eating into that).

Until then, if anybody asks you, I’m trying to raise $26,200. Okay!? I mean, I can’t re-print all the business cards, t-shirts and re-do the poster [Well, yes, I guess I could do that]. BUT, secretly – in my head – and thus, I guess, in the minds of those who follow the blog – all I’m trying to do is make it to $5k.  Am I disappointed?  Maybe a little.  I thought more people would spare $1 when I gave them a temporary tattoo or more people would donate $5 because I made them laugh along the Mount Vernon Trail, but the results are just not there and I don’t want to let more time pass, with more sacrifices made at a time when so many other things are going on that I want to enjoy.

There’s a fine line when it comes to fund-raising. If I didn’t have a job, or this was my full-time job, then I’d keep on trucking through, trying to make it, as hard as I could, to $26,200. But now that my running is drastically increasing, and my time has thus become more valuable, it’s a mental sacrifice I’m just not willing to make. I’ve raised a good amount of money for St. Jude’s so far (which I’m proud of), but what good would that be come December 4, 2010 if I feel like a failure because I didn’t reach a “goal” and I sacrificed time with my family in the interim? There are a few more events which I’m not giving up on, including something that I am hoping to post during this next, upcoming, Funday-Monday, but would it bring me to $26.2k? I just don’t know. And until then, I’ve lowered the bar and thus lowered the pressure.

Now that that’s out of the way … I must figure out how to mentally tackle these additional miles too …

ep

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 3:02 pm

    dont feel disheartened! you are doing so much for your cause even if you didn’t raise another dime. 🙂

  2. October 6, 2010 3:31 pm

    I fundraised over $20,000 for the Canadian Diabetes Association…but it took me almost 5 years!! I definitely know the stress of trying to manage a marathon training program while trying to meet fundraising deadlines (self-imposed or otherwise). $5K in this small amount of time is an excellent, super-fantastic goal and the people at St Jude’s will be more than thrilled. Keep up the great work!

    • October 6, 2010 9:00 pm

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for the kind and encouraging words. Congrats also on the $ you raised for the Canadian Diabetes Association! Diabetes is a cause close to my heart.

Leave a Reply

