Skip to content

The Seven Mile Stare Down

September 28, 2010

I’m sorry this post is so much later than usual but I’ve been running around like a chicken without a head in work for two days, so I think my excuse is legit. 😉 On a positive note, I knocked out my 3 mile run this morning without any hitch. I was feeling pretty good and thought I would just post something about my running and fund-raising plans at lunch, but one thing led to another which led to another, which led to 4 PM, which then led to me not being on the metro to go home until around 6:55 PM. While I was sitting there, in anticipation of my run tomorrow and my modified schedule for the week (you see, tonight I was supposed to be up in MD handing out fliers for the Happy Hour in Rockville, but working late ixnayed that event), I took a look at my training plan for the week so I could readjust accordingly and then there it was … just staring me in the face:

Weds. = 7 Miles.

7 Miles? 7 MILES! How the heck did I go from running 3 Miles on a Weds. to 7 Miles? I’ll be honest. I’m scared. Looking at that 7 Miles made me look at something else … Week No. 15. I’m only 6 weeks away from having to run 10 miles on a Wednesday and 20 Miles on a Saturday and I’m shaking a little over here in my running shoes.

When I first signed up for this endeavor, everything felt so.far.away. Honestly, thinking about it in “normal” terms (i.e., it’s a little more than 2 months away), everything IS still far away but it doesn’t feel like it when I think about it with ‘my running brain.’ From the Marathon or Bust perspective, I need more time!: More time to run. More time to fund-raise. More time to send out e-mails and letters and thank you cards! I guess, in general, more time just so that all my fears don’t come crashing in. Every now and then, I do think to myself, “What if you don’t make it to $26,200?” or “What if you do something silly like fall and sprain your foot?” Hey, it could happen! Right?

But then again, fear is the enemy. All the “what if(s)?” are just a distraction. In my opinion, they’re just the waste of time trying to prevent me from utilizing what little time I have so that any free time is maximized and utilized towards the goal of 26.2 Miles and $26,200. [It’s amazing how far a 7-Mile stare down can push one’s thoughts, isn’t it?]

Anyway, on that fund-raising note, if you look at my fund-raising page, you’ll notice that I’m a little over $2k. Well, I’ve got some big news for you, it takes St. Jude a few weeks to process checks. Technically, including checks I’ve sent to them which are waiting to clear, I’m actually at about $3k now! If you factor in the Happy Hour on Friday, I’m anticipating (and really, really hoping!) that my little temperature marker is AT LEAST doubled in the next two weeks.

Do you want some more exciting news? My singlet came in the mail today from St. Jude’s!:

There’s only one problem with it … it says “St. Jude Hero.” I don’t want to be a hero. I’m not a hero. I’m just a person. The kids and their families are the heroes. The vets that I ran with this past weekend? They are the heroes. I go to work and live my life like a normal, boring person every day. The good news is that I have some masking tape so I’m just going to cover it and put a name tag on top of the tape. But I’m still really excited! I’m going to wear it on Friday and maybe, just maybe, if I can manage to get myself out of bed at 5:15 AM tomorrow morning, I will wear it during my run for 7 miles. 7 Miles? 7 Miles! Oh geesh. I’m still scared …

See you on the other side,

ep

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 11:04 pm

    You are training for a marathon – you are a hero.

Leave a Reply

