Skip to content

Funday Monday! – What do you do to help you get up for a run?

September 20, 2010

What do you do to help you get up for a run? (or exercise!?)

You know, when I first started working out in the mornings, I had one friend who really helped me. Basically – he would call me on the phone in the morning (when I asked) and ask me a question. You see, once I start talking in the morning, I’m awake. If you ask me some kind of question and I can answer it coherently, then I can’t fall back asleep. So my friend would call 5 minutes after I set my alarm and ask me a question: What month is it? What day is it? What did you eat for dinner last night? etc. Most mornings, I was up and answered in an instant and he knew I was good to go. Other mornings, I would fake my answer and he would know … and he’d call back in 5 more minutes! (Thanks Kane!)

Anyway, there are other interesting ways to get yourself out of bed in the morning:

1. Sleep in your work out clothes!

2. Put your alarm on the other side of the room.

3. Get yourself an alarm clock that shoots puzzles at your face and won’t shut off until you put the pieces back in!

4. Set three alarms on your cell phone

5. Get a cat that will jump on your head

6. Get a dog (like I did) that needs to be walked in the morning so that he doesn’t pee in the house. ha!

That’s only 6 ideas, but I’m sure there are TONS more … so, dear readers, any suggestions?

Happy Funday Monday!

ep

6.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 11:02 am

    my answer would be i don’t. LOL! There was about a two week period were i was rockin’ the morning workouts, but honestly i usually set my alarm super early, completely ignore it, then do my runs in the afternoon/evenings. just NOT a morning person. 🙂

Leave a Reply

