Skip to content

The running and fund-raising continues! [Somehow] – (Yes, even with the puppy)

September 15, 2010

Dear Readers,

I have an enhanced appreciation for parenthood and parent runners. I’ve always admired those that live according to the the schedule of someone else who is completely dependent on them, but you really can’t fathom the insanity and exhaustion that comes with that kind of life change until you experience it for yourself first hand. You see, for example, I ran my 3 miles yesterday (Woo-hoo!) but it was basically a three-mile-run from hell … I was just so tired! The puppy got up before 6am, I took him out for an hour, then I went and worked all day and I didn’t get home until 7:30pm. At one point, I almost abandoned my run thinking, “It’s only 3 miles.” Fortunately, the thought was fleeting. Almost immediately after I thought about skipping it I thought, “If you don’t get your runs in, then you won’t be properly trained for the marathon in less than 3 months.” Alas, with the amazing support of my husband, I took a 30 minute power nap when I got home and ran the 3 miles at 8pm. My theory was that the run might not be great in quality (my running form was complete crap for example and I had to use all of my brain energy not to fall asleep) but it would also condition me to learn how to modify my running schedule so that I didn’t have to cut corners completely when unplanned changes in my schedule occurred during the week. It wasn’t ideal, but it got the job done. Moving forward, I am reminding myself that this is just a bad week since the puppy is a BIG adjustment and for the most part, it can only get better.

The good news is that I have now received adequate sleep and am back to my [semi]-normal self.  The reason I know this is because – for example – this morning I was thinking that I’ll probably have to get a “Marathon or Bust” tee for the puppy now too. The tech t-shirts I ordered will finally get here on Friday, we have a half this weekend (we have a friend watching our dog for a night) and -insert drum roll – the temporary tattoos arrived today! I’m a little behind on the Marathon or Bust Fund-raising work that I intended to do this week, but since the hubby and I are figuring out a schedule day-by-day, I anticipate that by next week all systems will be back to full throttle.

Back to the running notes, today was the first 6-Mile-Run-Weds. on the schedule. I’ll be honest – I’m not doing it today. I just can’t. Yesterday’s entire schedule was pretty much repeated today except it’s 9:11pm and I still haven’t eaten dinner or run (whereas last night at this time, both were complete). Tonight’s setbacks included a trip to PetSmart, 20 minutes of getting the dog to jump in and out of a car (he was scared and he barked at me a lot), and cleaning up doggie volmit in the car. Yup – the little guy started making weird noises while we were driving, I said to the hubs, “I think he’s throwing up” and then when I flipped on the interior light, there was dog vomit everywhere. Disgusting!  Anyway, I’d be lieing if I didn’t say I was disappointed. I am. I am feeling overwhelmed. I like checking off my to-do list each day and unfortunately this week’s volume of tasks just can’t be completed in the amount of hours we’re given in a week. However, I’m not giving up so I’ll run 6 miles tomorrow, consider today to be an “off” day and maybe do some cross training on Friday as a consolation. On the positive side, I’ve been doing a lot of walking lately and I’m having less trouble getting up in the morning – even if I don’t get to go for a run. Maybe the dog and I are both conditioning at this time – I’m conditioning him to be a good dog and he’s conditioning me to be the type of person who gets up early for a run so that he and I can run together. Only time will tell.

Until tomorrow,

ep

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

