Skip to content

What are these business cards I keep talking about?

September 2, 2010

I just came to the realization this morning that I keep referring to the ‘business cards’ that I hand out while I run. But, for the majority of you readers (who either don’t know me, or don’t live near me, or who have come to the blog from a flyer or chalk drawing), well, you have no idea what my Marathon or Bust business card looks like!

So, for your viewing pleasure, here it is:

FRONT:

BACK:

What do you think? As I mentioned last weekend, in only four weeks I learned that it’s much easier to hand out the cards to people who are not moving or who are moving slower than me versus runners who are crossing me from the opposite direction.

Also, while many people have come to the blog, few have made a donation, but I want you to know I’m still pretty proud of the idea and the card because I’m pretty sure you’ve never heard of another runner doing this, have you? 😉

So, speaking of how cool some of my efforts have been, if this is your second, third, or tenth time visiting, and if you’ve enjoyed what I’ve done so far, and the crappy economy hasn’t affected you too much, do you think you could make a donation? (Even just $5!?; No amount is too small!).

Don’t forget, the Donation Deal has been extended through Monday! Think about how cool it would be if you made a $5 donation for a good cause and then a few weeks later, won a one-hour massage and/or a $100 Amex gift card just because you did something good?!? If I’m convincing you that making a donation would be a good idea, then click here.

Tomorrow will be the wonderful (and my favorite) Inspiration Friday. I’m debating between whether or not to give you an update on one of my favorite patients (who is currently at St. Jude) – Brock – or if I should share with you some other stories? I guess only time will tell. Then, we’ll all be off for the weekend. Definitely stay tuned for Monday’s post (even if you don’t read it until Tuesday) because I already wrote it and I can give you one word to describe it: HILARIOUS!

Happy feet!

ep

3 Comments leave one →
  1. j0yd permalink
    September 2, 2010 9:41 am

    Found your blog through chalk drawings on the Custis and W&OD Trails yesterday and today. What a great idea! Good luck with your training and your fundraising. Maybe I’ll see you on the trails one of these days!

    • Nick permalink
      September 3, 2010 10:42 am

      I also saw those postings on the Custis & W&OD. But I’m reluctant to give credit card info to a website that might be spoofing a donation to St Judes just for the purpose of collecting credit card info. And when I go directly to St Judes to donate to participants in the Memphis St Jude’s Marathon, I can’t find any participant named “Marathon or Bust Girl” and when I search on Elena there are two of them (though one has initials “ep” but only has $500 as a donation goal, which seems inconsistent with this blog). More details are needed on how to give directly to St Judes in this person’s name. You can’t be too careful nowadays, sorry.

      • September 3, 2010 12:05 pm

        Nick – thank you for your helpful comment! I was wondering why my blog stats are through the roof, but the donations have been so few! I realize now that I made it hard to search for me directly because when you SEARCH for the participant via the St. Jude’s Event page, I made my name like this – First name: “Marathon or”, Last name: “Bust Girl”. That way when St. Jude’s posted it, it read: “Marathon or Bust Girl”. I’m hesitant to change everything around now because I think it’s easier for people to remember me as “that Marathon or Bust Girl” versus my real name, but I want you to know I’m legit (Elena Petzold is the name by the way). There are other ways you can double/triple check and/or different ways you can make a donation too:
        1. Search for me at the event page by typing in “Marathon or” in the FIRST NAME. That should bring you to my page.
        2. I am on the scrolling list on the “Top Participants” section
        3. If you are more comfortable, you can also write a check directly to St. Jude’s which you’d mail directly to St. Jude’s as well. On my donation page, there is a little button on the right under the patient image that says “Print This Form.” You will need to print that form because it gives me credit for your donation (towards my personal fund-raising goal) and also because it has the mailing address of where to send your check in Memphis.

        Thank you again for your very helpful comment. If you are thinking it, so are others! Please let me know if you have any other questions or comments. I love feedback. For example, do you think I should just put my name?

Leave a Reply

