Skip to content

Is it really September? And you have one more week of +2!

September 1, 2010

Is anybody else wondering what happened to August? I mean, I did some pretty fun and exciting things in August, including a visit to Texas with my incredibly fun 2 year old nephew, but without some serious focus, I honestly cannot tell you what happened during the last month of my life. Like a bout of memory loss, it’s like the last 5 weeks are a total blur. I was actually so distraught yesterday over my inability to recollect, that I had to sit down to think about how and why time flew so fast. Then I had a realization … the 5 weeks that I can’t remember, freakishly coincide with the existence of this blog and the start of my marathon training! 😉 I do love that quote: Life is what happens when you’re planning your future.

So now that September is here and I have 5 weeks of training under my belt, I can tell you that the Marathon is finally starting to feel real. When I first signed up at the end of July, I thought, “I think it’ll pick up and feel real in September.” It has. First things first, the +2 Chances Donation Deal was so popular, that I’m going to extend to Labor Day (Monday, September 6th). Yup! If you were thinking, “Oh crap! I should have made my donation and got two extra chances!” well I’m giving you a few more days to get your donation in. Click HERE. But, this is the last week for +2 Chances! There will be other raffles and deals over the next few weeks, but none of them will give you +2 chances, so take advantage while you can. You don’t have to live in the Washington, DC region to make a donation or be excited; you can win some great stuff and you know I can mail the Amex gift card anywhere!

Second, I’m going to keep working through Friday, but I’m warning you all now that after Friday, I’m going to take a break for the weekend from blogging. A lot of people will be away for Labor Day and I don’t anticipate that you’ll all be reading the blog, so I’m going to relish in the quiet and enjoy a relaxing ‘stay-cation’ with my husband. Once the following weekend rolls around, we’ve got something planned every weekend of the month:

Sept 11th – I’ll be outside all day taking donations at a currently undisclosed location

Sept 12th – Nation’s Tri: We’re supporting a friend who’s doing her first olympic distance triathlon and working: handing out cards, selling temp tattoos, sportin’ some MOB tech tees to get the word out, etc.

Sept 19th – Running a Half Marathon (and you know I’ll be working that!: handing out cards, selling temp tattoos for donations, etc.)

Sept 25th – Running Navy 5 Miler and working! (notice all the working amongst these races, lol)

Needless to say, September is going to be busy, busy! But I am excited. I read somewhere that having some kind of goal (or maybe it was “positive thoughts”) while you run can actually improve your running. It was either Self magazine or Runner’s World, but I haven’t been able to locate the original article since I decided I wanted to write about it in the blog. Anyway, I want you to know it’s tried and true. I tested it myself. I was so upset one day over something and I had to go for a 4 mile run, that I decided I should combine the two to see if I could clear my head. Well, that was disastrous. The first two miles were awful! Thinking about it (the issue causing me some internal turmoil) actually caused me to get a tummy ache! So at Mile 2, I said to myself, “This is ridiculous. The run is not helping. Just think about all the things you have to do tomorrow for the blog,” So I did and suddenly, the last two miles didn’t seem as exhausting and my stomach started to feel a little better.  Note: I’m going to keep looking for that article.

Readers, why do you run? Or if you’re not there yet, why do you want to run? What’s holding you back?

By the way, I ran my 3 miles last night without a hitch. They say the last thing you should do is sit around when you’ve got DOMS (you’re supposed to keep moving!). Of course, it’s always easier said than done. As soon as I got home from work, I immediately changed into my workout gear because I knew if I had any delay, I might not run at all. The first .25 mile was a little rough (I was going at a pace that would make you think, “Are you running? Are you walking? What are you doing?!”) but after about a mile, with just a little soreness, I felt like my old running self. I’m hoping the soreness/pain (it’s mainly in my left quad and inner thigh) will go away by Saturday. I’m going to start doing a little more strength work too over the next few weeks. I think my muscle breakdown (I’ve lost some strength and flexibility with the increased running) is partly to blame. I also have a sports massage scheduled for Monday and I’m counting down the days. If there is one reason I’m excited it’s September it’s because my next massage appointment is September 6th.

Here comes the Fall! (My favorite)

Happy Hump Day to all,

ep

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 11:36 am

    I went for a run along the Custis trail this morning and saw you written all over it. After the 5th or so “Marathon or Bust” sign I figured I had to check it out. Good luck with your training and fundraising!

Leave a Reply

