Skip to content

Monday Funday! – A New Category

August 30, 2010

Hope you all had a great weekend. I’m coining and slightly modifying a phrase that was created by a high school friend:  Sunday Funday. I love the phrase but I have to cross train on Sunday so it’s not so Funday as one would think. Recently, I’ve had the idea in my head to include some of the really fun aspects of racing in my blog so I’ve decided to merge these two favorites. Additionally, since I have “off” on Mondays, it’s now official:  Monday is Funday!

For today’s inaugural Monday Funday post, I’m pulling a questionnaire that I found on a Runners World Forum.  Here goes:

1. What was/is your favorite race, why?
2. What was/is your post race ritual?
3. What was/is your pre-race ritual?
4. Are you a fan of carb loading pre-race? And if so, why?
5. Favorite article of clothing while running. Why?
6. Best refueling options for you. Why?
7. Worst running (race, workout, injury) experience you have had, and what did you do to remedy it, overcome it, or wish you would have done?

I invite you to leave some comments with your own answers. Here are mine:

1. What was/is your favorite race, why?

I think my favorite race will always be my first race.  It was called Runstock and it was hosted by the Marine Corps Marathon. Unfortunately, after my inaugural participation (2008), they don’t have it anymore. It was a night race at the end of August (start time = 7:30pm) and it concluded with GREAT live music. The first time I ran it, my husband and I were still dating. I remember the excitement of having him with me to calm my nerves (he tried to get me to eat, despite the fact I was so nervous I had no appetite that day) and he ran with me the whole way.  Afterwards,  I felt so accomplished. And then whenever I turned my head, he was by my side, which made me so happy to be with him.  After the run, we listened to the band, took off our shoes, and drank some water with the grass between our toes. It’s one of my best memories.

2. What was/is your post race ritual?

Drink water. Lots and lots of water. Then shower.

3. What was/is your pre race ritual?

I drink lots of water the day before. Then, I go out to eat a pasta dinner with my sweetie. Right before I get into bed, I lay out all my gear (including my morning food). The following day, RIGHT before race start I do two things:  1) is a combination of exercises to prepare my joints and muscles for the run (it’s got some lunges, hopping, etc.; I found it in Runners World a few weeks ago, here) and  2.) is a rolling of all joints that I picked up in the book Chi Running. I twist my ankles, put my hands on my knees, circle my hips, etc.  I look pretty weird, but my runs feel really good – even at the start – when I do it. That is basically my “pre-run” (especially long run) ritual.

4. Are you a fan of carb loading pre race? And if so, why?

Yes and anyone could guess my answer: because I like to eat.

5. Favorite article of clothing while running. Why?

My “must have” for races is not an article of clothing per se. It’s actually … a tattoo! For some reason, I always like having a tattoo on my face. With glitter. lol. It’s so festive, it gets me pumped.

6. Best refueling options for you. Why?

You’ll have to read my posts on Fuel and Running Gear for that! 😉

7. Worst running (race, workout, injury) experience you have had, and what did you do to remedy it, overcome it, or wish you would have done?

I could answer this one in a couple of ways, but I think I’ll just tell you about one of the worst races I ever ran:

New Year’s Eve 2008. There was a local Ring in the New Year Run. 4 Miles. It was REALLY flippin’ cold. In short, the weather was horrid (high winds) and a power line fell about 2 hours before the race which forced the race directors and security team to re-route the course. What was supposed to be a scenic 2 mile out and back became a one mile loop … with 2 hills. Correction: 2 VERY steep hills. 4 miles and 2 VERY steep hills … I’ll let you do the math. The race didn’t have a LOT of people and it was supposed to be “for fun.” Well I guess some people’s fun is another group of people’s PR challenge because there were two a-holes who were running the course who kept yelling at racers, “Left! Left! On your left!” As I was struggling up one hill (I think it was the second time around, which was their third or fourth circle), the male of the two hit me in the arm as he passed me. I was so cold – even while wearing every article of clothing that I owned – that I can’t remember what I yelled, but I was pretty upset: cold, tired, being pushed. Let’s just say it wasn’t the New Year I was hoping for.

What did I do to overcome it? First, I drank water and showered. Then I drank some spiked hot chocolate. Then I drank some champagne, went to bed, and vowed never to run that race ever again. 🙂

I hope you like Monday Funday. Please leave me some comments!

ep

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 10:44 am

    hi there! i have a follow question for you about comment u left on my blog about plantar fascitis… i have been researching on runner’s world for what the issue could be and it sounded alot like this but i’m not sure.. do you know if that’s the issue what i need to do? as of now, i can’t run and i’m super sad! i am trying to schedule a doc appt in a bit for other reasons, but will def ask about my foot – in the meantime, is the best route to take a week off from running, buy some new shoes, then try again? or is it going to take more work to get rid of this? i tried to “run through the pain” on sun and made it 1.5mi and limped running on tip toes the other mile back home! 😦 anyways if you have any advice i’d be super grateful! (love this post idea by the way!)

    • August 30, 2010 11:54 am

      Ugh. Total bummer! I was hoping your pain would go away and that it was just a fluke. 😦 Just to state the obvious, I have no medical training, so my number one answer would be to schedule a podiatrist appointment ASAP. But I understand that sometimes you can’t go to the doctor the next day so I’d further advise – immediately – rest. If you DO have plantar fascitis, continuing to run on it, especially in your same shoes (which I think might be the source of the problem), would only aggravate the injury (and could increase healing time and potentially ruin your race plans). You have to treat the injury first, get rid of symptoms, then attack the problem so that the injury and symptoms don’t return. Elevate the foot and ice it to help the inflammation go away too. You can go here for more info which I think is good: http://www.plantar-fasciitistreatment.com/ … I have a friend who suffered from PF. He tried the night socks and night splints and said that both helped GREATLY. Lastly – try really hard not to get bummed out. The hardest part of trying to treat an injury is rest – No one wants to rest when they’re trying to run! But attention at the onset of the injury is always better for your long-term running. Let us know how goes and get better soon!

  2. Andrew permalink
    August 30, 2010 11:38 am

    1. What was/is your favorite race, why?

    Cherry Blossom 10-miler; 10 miles is a great race distance, great crowd, great DC views.

    2. What was/is your post race ritual?

    Get free food…then go out and eat…cracker barrel if available.

    3. What was/is your pre-race ritual?

    Eat a bagel, drink some water, pack my gear, pin my bib.

    4. Are you a fan of carb loading pre-race? And if so, why?

    Yes. Science.

    5. Favorite article of clothing while running. Why?

    Any shorts with pockets. Able to hold stuff.

    6. Best refueling options for you. Why?

    Used to do gels…starting to not like them. Just had some clif blocks, pretty good, trying honey stingers next.

    7. Worst running (race, workout, injury) experience you have had, and what did you do to remedy it, overcome it, or wish you would have done?

    Worst race was the GW parkway 10 miler. I was going for a PR, but didn’t go to bed early enough and didn’t really train properly. Wish I had gone to bed, and ran more hills during training.

Leave a Reply

