Skip to content

I’m still here! And I’m talking about Black Toes …

August 23, 2010

I took a three day trip to Texas and that inevitably equaled a three day trip from work, the blog, and (gasp!) running. If it were for sheer will alone, then the voyage would not have deterred me because I was on a mission to get my running in, but 107 degree weather – three days in a row – exhausted me. I made it 1.75 miles on Thursday before deciding that another mile could quite possibly make me hate running altogether. I set the alarm for 6am on Saturday, but hardly slept from sweating all night long and promised myself I’d do it in the evening. But the purpose of the trip was to visit my delightful 2.5 year old nephew and when it comes to running, I have a catch phrase which goes like this: 1. People first (mainly my husband), 2. Then running, 3. Then other things (It’s Suze Orman-esque, don’t ya think). So, with Saturday night being the night before our departure and with our quality time nearing the end, I decided it would be best to just switch out my routine days between Saturday and Sunday since Monday would be a rest day no matter what.

So I’m back! And I’m all about running and fund-raising with a vengeance. My long run on Saturday will be a 9-miler, so I’ll be bringing along some fuel this week which I’m planning to review for you on Thursday. Additionally, the Happy Hour is set for October (flyer to come), I have tentative plans for a trail on Saturday and I wanted to share with you a few more things that are either in the works or that didn’t work:

1. Trying to get Broadway tickets – FAIL

I tried to get some Broadway tickets to beef up the prizes for the raffle. After 4 weeks of calling and e-mailing (the same person, might I add), I was finally told on Weds. that they “are not able to do it at this time.” I was a little upset. I mean, we’re still kind of in the middle of a crappy economy, but I wasn’t asking for money and I can’t possibly fathom what they had to lose by filling their NYC theater with two more bodies in the far, far back of a dark room. But a few minutes after I was rejected I came to one conclusion: Whatever. I think I was mainly upset that I spent so much time persevering, only to be told ‘No’, but in some kind of weird cosmic way, how is that any different than the patients who inspire me to keep on pushing? Some people may try several different treatment routes, all to no avail, before they get a positive result. Don’t you agree? With that perspective, I determined the Broadway tickets just weren’t meant to be and I moved on.

2. Through the workings of a creative friend, I have ANOTHER plan which I wouldn’t have thought of on my own: I’m throwing a Stella & Dot party in November! – SUCCESS!

My friend is a Stella & Dot stylist and after attending a party at her house last weekend, she said she’d be more than excited to have another event in the Fall and donate a portion of the sales to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital! Earrings and a good cause? Now that’s something I can throw myself behind.

Now, I did mention in the title that I was going to talk about something that is well known amongst seasoned runners: black toes. I have one friend training for a marathon in October who is the victim of a black toe assault and my husband, oh how I love him so, well, he is in the midst of his second bout of black toe too. The first black toe that my hubby ever had was when he and I were dating. I admit, I really came to love him and his black toe. In some sick and twisted way, it almost feels like we’re dating again (lol!), but I digress … If you’re experiencing (or getting ready to experience a black toe which means you have “gray toe” now) do yourself a favor and go get new sneakers ASAP. I had read in some Runners World article that the number one cause of black toes is sneakers that are not fit properly. This made sense, but quite honestly, most people come to love a sneaker and dedicate themselves to it; my friend and hubby (both seasoned runners) included. The girl who is training for a marathon in October has been a dedicated fan of her sneaker for three years. My hubby and his shoes? About two. However, in talking to Ms. October Marathon (names have been changed to protect the identity of those involved), well her doctor said that some sneakers – even if they’re tried and true – may not work for long-distance races because above a certain mileage, your feet swell to new heights. Thus, those kicks you’ve been hanging on to for your 10-Milers and half-marathon training, may not be Marathon material. The good news is that both members of the Black Toe Club are planning on getting some new sneaks this week (approximately .5 to one full size bigger), so I’ll let you know in a few weeks how that works out for them.

As for me and black toes, I have yet to be induced into the BTC. It’s odd: in some way I kind of think that you get “street cred” when you get a black toe. On the other hand, they can be painful! I’m wondering if chaffing is suffice to be considered a true runner? Now that I think about it, I’m having a flashback … did you ever read my About the Runner page? There was one time in 2009 when I thought I was a ‘runner,’ but I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. Well, I just remembered! Basically, I ran my first half-marathon in the rain and my t-shirt was a little too big. Every time I bounced up, so did my t-shirt by a centimeter. Additionally, every time I bounced down, so did my wet and heavy t-shirt on the same section of skin. I hadn’t had any chaffing or welts during the course of my training, but when I hopped in the shower, my neck was burning! THAT was when I thought I was an official runner: when I had some “bruising.” Fast forward to today and I’ll admit I’ve already had a few chaffing incidents (namely two weeks ago when the keys in my butt pocket left a little welt on my lower back), but since I’ve increased my distance, I feel like a minor side-effect of forgetfulness is not suffice. At this point, I’m hoping that 26.2 Miles under my belt (sans a black toe!) will do. We’ll see …

Happy Running!

ep

PS – if you haven’t been there yet, check out the MOB Shop! All proceeds go to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 10:09 pm

    Three marathons and lots of shorter races behind me and I’ve never had “black toe.” It’s totally because of poor-fitting shoes. When I was a hard core runner, I was dating a guy (now my husband) who worked at a running store. My shoes always fit properly. 🙂

    Running shoes should generally be a FULL SIZE larger than your regular shoes. And always get fitted at a real running store, not Sports Authority or Dick’s or any of those other “big box” places.

  2. September 10, 2010 8:18 pm

    Awesome blog I enjoyed reading your information

Leave a Reply

