Skip to content

Brock – 20 Months

August 6, 2010

Friday! Woo-hoo! It’s here.  I love Fridays – especially Inspiration Fridays!  I’m writing this week about Brock who is almost 20 months old. Brock is extra special because I did not come across him on one of the St. Jude pages. Instead, I was doing some perusing on Facebook  (FB) and then there he was. Brock was admitted to St. Jude on April 8, 2010. That’s only 4 months ago. This was the picture that first caught my eye:

Isn’t he cute? I found him on a FB page called “Minden St. Jude Auction” and there was a caption that said, “Please keep this sweet boy, Brock Cassell, in your thoughts and prayers as he begins treatment for Leukemia at St. Jude.”

After going through a few more photos and wall posts, I saw that there is a FB page for him: Praying for Brock Haines Cassell<3

And then after seeing him now, even though he’s still cute and smiling – my heart wept.

I did a little more searching to see what I could find. I mean, his story is not very different compared to the many others you can find in Patient Archives, but the fact that he’s going through treatment RIGHT NOW and that his story is so “close” (doesn’t FB make you feel that way about everything) well, in that regards, somehow the reality of it all seemed like it had more color.

Speaking of color – I guess I feel that way because there is so much of it:

I think his Aunt is the keeper and maker of the FB page and there are just SO many photos:

In this last picture, did you notice the little doll in the background?

There are dozens of pictures.  Each and every one (in my opinion) just shows you how incredible St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital is both for patients and their families.

As of July 17, in an album called “Brock’s Journey Continues” I found this:

Well, Brock, your journey continues and so does mine! Good luck to you and your family. I will say a prayer for you and them and I am making it officially known that my run on Saturday is dedicated to you. I’m going 6 miles.  At one time in my life, I would have been scared, but I have now learned that the real person, who is going a great distance – is you!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 12:03 am

    I am Mandy cassell a.k.a. Brocks mom. And I just wanted to tell you thank you from the bottom of my heart for what you are doing for the children of St. Jude. Words cannot express it enough how thankful we are for people like you. I wish you well with all your marathons and am so glad that children like my son have inspired you to run these races. And most importantly conquer your fears. Sincerely Mandy.

  2. Velda Lowery permalink
    August 8, 2010 9:25 pm

    this is so precious….Mandy’s friends have started a page on Facebook…Pennies & Prayers..please join and invite your friends!!!…thank you! Velda

  3. Linda M. permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:29 pm

    This is so precious…

Leave a Reply

