Skip to content

The OFFICIAL Training Program Starts Today!

August 2, 2010

It’s been approximately three weeks since I signed myself up for the Memphis Marathon and I’ve been running (and raising money!), but the start of my official training program is today. (What makes it official you may ask? I printed it out and taped it to my wall.) The program I chose is Hal Higdon’s Novice Marathon Plan and it calls for 18 weeks of training, so three weeks ago I sat down with a calendar, dated all the weeks starting at the end and worked backwards, and according to my calculations, today is Day 1.

So that’s it. There’s no turning back. I mean, I guess there’s always turning back, but that’s not the goal. I’ve signed myself up, I’ve already put the word out, I’ve got a few dedicated readers, I’ve got several donations already made to St Jude Children’s Research Center and nothing will get in my way. Not rain. Not heat. Not injury (hopefully). Not travel. Not holidays. Maybe getting up early, but in due time, not even the early morning hours can or will set me back.

Dear world – you know I roll: Go big or go home! Memphis, here I come. 🙂

PS – if you want a good laugh, click on the training program so you see what I have to do today. I love Mondays. 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

