Skip to content

Travel and Training

July 18, 2010

This past weekend the hubby and I made our way up to New York to attend a wedding. Of course, travel and weddings are a wonderful thing, but when you combine them with marathon training, they can also be a detriment. Fortunately, I’m still in the “early stages” of my program, so there were no setbacks (either in scheduling or training).

But I must admit, training and traveling are two things that I really don’t like to combine. It’s one thing when you’re visiting a known locale, but if you’re going somewhere that you’ve never been before – smack in the middle of a training program – something’s bound to suffer (Can you imagine being late to dinner with a Client because you thought you’d go on a short run, but you got lost and took an extra 30 minutes to find your way back? I send major kudos to travelers who can dedicate themselves to their program AND the rigors of travel, work, and other life demands).

Anyway, I ran my long run on Saturday morning (a few hours before the wedding) and I only thought about one thing: It is H-O-T and it is only going to get H-O-T-er! I ran 5 miles along a boardwalk at around 7 in the morning and realized that if I’m going to survive my training through the end of August, then I’m going to need to get up much earlier to avoid the heat and oppressive humidity. I’m not looking forward to 5 am or 5:30am runs. I was supposed to get up this morning at 6:30 am for 3 miles and I failed at that, so we’ll see how I do 7 weeks from now when I have to run 5 miles on a Wednesday morning. I’ll just run my 3 miles tonight and hydrate all day.

Coming soon to the blog is going to be a new section: FOOD! I also added a new section for  Thursdays – Inspiration – which will feature a St. Jude “Patient of the Month.” I toyed around with calling the “Food” Section “Motivation” because I thought it was funny, but the real motivation is tied into inspiration and I didn’t want to confuse the two.

Is anyone else running? Is anyone else toying around with signing up for a marathon? Does anyone else want to sign up for St. Jude’s and make a team with me? No man is an island and I’m happy to admit that I’d love some helping in raising $26,200. As of now, I have a little less than $26,000 to go!

Happy running,

ep

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dad permalink
    July 19, 2010 2:08 pm

    keep up the good work i am proud of you.

  2. July 27, 2010 6:48 pm

    oh i feel your pain. i am NOT a morning person, but i’ve found my desire to run allowing me to drag my butt out of bed at 6am several days over the past week cause it’s just soo sooo HOOTT.

Leave a Reply

