Skip to content

142 Days to go …

July 14, 2010

It’s been a few days since I posted anything because I’m still in the stages of what I call “easy running.” My mileage has not been much this week. I ran 2 miles yesterday, I’m going to run 3 miles as soon as I post this and I only have to run 2 miles tomorrow. Easy running is a double-edged sword because as soon as I signed up for the marathon, I felt like I was going to have to do a lot of work and right now it feels like I don’t have to do anything. But I’m trying not to kick a gift horse in the mouth. I’m sure once October and November come, I won’t be doing much other than running, going to work, going to sleep, and eating.

As for my long run on Saturday, I had a really good mental and physical run. The rain stopped a few hours after I posted my entry and it wind up being one of the most beautiful Saturdays (so far) of the summer. I hit the trails outside and it was nothing but warm and breezy. In terms of mental preparation, I already feel like I can’t and won’t let rain be a setback, because it’s too unpredictable (or maybe the weather people really suck). Either way, the rain had me in such a funk and then my run wind up being one of my favorites and best yet, so come December, if they predict rain, I already feel like I’ll be thinking, “Maybe it’ll stop” or maybe as Queen would say, “Don’t stop me now! [We’re having such a good time. We’re having a ball!” Oh Queen. They’re such a good band. But I detract …

Anyway, I’m working on business cards this week and I should have my order placed by the weekend. I’m going order 2500 cards for my fund-raising efforts. Do you think that’s too much or not enough? I’ll add a poll.

Feel free to leave a comment. Feedback – good or bad – is always invaluable.

Off for my 3 mile run,
ep

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 7:54 am

    Your daily routine is not bad at all, you most probably will be tired; but you will be fine. I think 2500 might be a little too much.

  2. July 14, 2010 2:58 pm

    You do know that my second marathon was run in the rain, right? Not to worry you or anything. It was super-tough, but in some ways lots of fun. You can do this!!!

Leave a Reply

