Skip to content

Day 1 – Signing Up for a Marathon

July 7, 2010

I’m ashamed to admit it, but more than half the year has passed and I’m not even close to obtaining ½ of my New Year’s Resolution: run a marathon. The other half of my resolution is to raise money for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. I’ve spent hours upon hours thinking about when I can or would run a marathon and how much money I could raise. But up until recently, I’ve been chicken.

Over the past week, ironically while running, I finally determined the exact amount I want to raise: $26,200. For those of you who are not “running-inclined,” a marathon is 26.2 miles, so I figured that $26,200 is the most appropriate figure for myself; It’s more than most people think they could or would raise, but not completely unattainable. In fact, at this point for me, raising approximately $26k is a piece of cake, compared to bringing my legs a distance of 26.2 miles.

I’ve spent a long time thinking about what has held me back from signing up for a marathon earlier in the year. Mainly, it’s one thing: fear. Fear of signing myself up for something I can’t physically do and fear of getting injured along the way (I always get injured. In general, I think I’m just accident-prone). But recently I’ve been thinking about why I created this resolution for myself too and there’s only one answer – because if a little kid can battle life-threatening illnesses, then surely I can bring myself to run 26.2 miles without crying boo-hoo-hoo over a few blisters on my feet.

So, I’m doing it, world. I’ve signed myself up: December 4, 2010. Marathon or bust.

Be sure to bookmark this page and/or add me to your blog roll. At the very least, I can guarantee you a few things: some very good stories over the next few months, some really great raffles to come, and hopefully some inspiration to help you achieve whatever resolutions you may have set out for yourself as well.

Here I go …
ep

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    July 9, 2010 2:32 pm

    Wow, so proud of you! I’m sure you’ll accomplish your New Year’s resolution (you always do). Running a marathon is a BIG accomplishment.

  2. July 27, 2010 11:53 am

    good luck!! i am currently working my goal of running my 1st half in sept. and i’m planning no running the memphis st. jude half as my 2nd. 🙂

    • July 27, 2010 1:36 pm

      Thanks and good luck to you as well! Keep in touch and maybe we can meet up in Memphis in December. Where’s your half in Sept.? Hopefully you picked a flat course! 🙂

      • July 27, 2010 6:50 pm

        i am planning on doing the women’s half in nashville.. but i may opt to do atlanta’s half on oct 3. we’ll see – the atlanta one appeals to me because i could group it with an ikea trip too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

